Donor Sibling Registry
July 1, 2016 – Missouri Governor Jay Nixon has Signed HB1599! Missouri born adoptees will now be able to get a copy of their original birth certificate for the first time since 1941, without a court order. Visit the Missouri Adoptee Rights Movement on Facebook for more information.
On May 27, 2014, Governor Christie amended the vital records law to allow an adult adoptee, whose Original Birth Certificate was placed in a “sealed file,” to obtain a non-certified copy of that Original Birth Certificate. P.L. 2014, c. 9.
The application fee is $25, and according to the instructions, it may take 4 to 6 weeks to fulfill.
Starting June 23, 2016, all members of the triad (adoptee, birth parents & adoptive parents) may request access to sealed adoption records held by Family Court, once the adopted person is 18 years old. These records contain information about the parties to the adoption and include court documents, the home study, and the adoptee’s original birth certificate.
The request for access is made directly to Family Court, on forms provided by the Court
0r at their office. This request must filed in the Family Court of the district where the adoption took place.
This form must be signed and notarized if you are mailing it in. When delivering this request in person, you must have a picture ID to verify your identity. Those requesting must pay for a copy of the records.
Following are all the Family Courts and their contact information:
Adoption Records First Circuit Court (Oahu), Family Court
Kapolei Judiciary Complex
4675 Kapolei Parkway
Kapolei Hi 96707-3272
Phone; (808) 954-8145
Adoption Records Family Court, 2nd District
2145 Main Street, Suite 206
Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii 96793-1679